FORMULA REGIONAL EUROPEAN CHAMPIONSHIP BY ALPINE FIRES UP THE 2025 SEASON IN MISANO

01/05/2025 **©** 13:49



Rafael Camara, Andrea Kimi Antonelli, Dino Beganovic, and before them Grégoire Saucy, Formula Regional builds champions. A quick look at the series' roll of honour reveals a growing legacy of excellence, with many former drivers now competing in Formula 1, including Antonelli, Isack Hadjar, and Gabriel Bortoleto. Coorganised by **ACI Sport** and **Alpine Racing** since 2021, the championship now enters its fifth season, kicking off this weekend at **Misano**, an all-new venue for the series, with a 26-car grid representing ten teams.

The **Formula Regional European Championship by Alpine** continues to affirm its role as the only official **FIA-certified** step between Formula 4 and Formula 3, in full alignment with the **FIA**'s single-seater pyramid. Among the many standout names on the grid is **Freddie Slater** (**Prema Racing**), who arrives as reigning Italian F4 champion. The 16-year-old Briton will continue his journey with the reigning teams' champions, who also line up with Mercedes Junior Team drivers **Rashid Al Dhaheri** and **Doriane Pin**. Pin enters her second year in the series while concurrently competing in the F1 Academy, which prevents her from taking part in the Misano season opener. Rounding out the Prema squad is Australian **Jack Beeton**, a title contender last year in F4 alongside Slater.

Another returning name is **Enzo Deligny (R-ace GP)**, joined by 2024 Euro4 Champion **Akshay Bohra** and Japanese newcomer **Jin Nakamura**. **Pedro Clerot (Van Amersfoort Racing)** returns for a second FRECA campaign with the Dutch outfit, who also debut Japanese driver **Hiyu Yamakoshi**, third in last year's Italian F4 and **Dion Gowda**. All eyes are also on **Evan Giltaire (ART Grand Prix)**, a race winner in 2023 and the newly crowned Formula Regional Middle East champion. The French team also welcomes Japanese driver Taito Kato, who makes his debut in the series, alongside compatriot Kanato Le.

Nikita Bedrin, bringing experience from Formula 3, lines up alongside series newcomer **Tim Gerhards** under the **Saintéloc Racing** banner. **Giovanni Maschio** remains with **RPM** for a second season, joined by **Enzo Peugeot** and **Rui-Heng Yeh**. **Trident Motorsport** lines up with **Matteo De Palo**, **Nandhavud**

Bhirombhakdi, and **Ruiqi Liu**. **G4 Racing** fields three newcomers: **Arthur Aegerter**, **Edouard Borgna**, and **Kacper Sztuka**.

This weekend also marks the debut of two new teams in the championship: **CL Motorsport**, counting on the experience of **Valerio Rinicella**, and **Akcel GP**, who will compete with **Aditya Kulkarni** and **Saqer Al Maosherji**.

Engines fire up on Friday with two 50-minute Collective Test sessions. Saturday features Qualifying 1 at 8:30 and Race 1 at 16:10. Sunday opens with Qualifying 2 at 8:30, followed by Race 2 at 17:30. As always, both qualifying and races will be streamed live on the official YouTube page and broadcast on TV networks covering the championship.